Cricket Ireland  
NCU logo
Northern Cricket Union
Charity Registration Number:NIC103522

NCU Facebook Page
NCU Facebook Page
 
Northern Knights and Emerging Knights 2017 Fixture List

Richard White
NCU PRO

The inaugural First Class Hanley Energy Inter-Provincial (IP) Championship will present the Northern Knights with their busiest schedule to date. The competition has expanded this year with the entry of Munster Reds to the Irish Inter-Provincial Series.

After a pre-season challenge against the Western Warriors of Scotland in late April the Northern Knights first scheduled competitive action of 2017 will be in Cork against Munster Reds in the IP20 Competition.

Local cricket fans will have six different venues across the Northern Cricket Union where they can watch the Northern Knights in Inter-Provincial action this summer. The first venue to welcome the new First Class competition is Belmont (Home of CIYMS), on the 4th June, with a 50 Over contest against reigning Champions Leinster Lightning. The following day both teams head to Stormont for a three day game, and later that month they contest an IP20 game at Shaw's Bridge on the 23rd June.

From the 1st to the 3rd August North West Warriors will be the opposition at The Green, Comber, followed by an IP50 at Waringstown three days later. The home games conclude later that month with an IP20 against the same opposition at Belmont on the 11th August.

The Emerging Knights have games confirmed against Leinster 'A', North West Warriors 'A', and Munster Reds.

Northern Knights head coach Simon Johnston says, 'We are already increasing our pool of senior cricketers that are good enough to represent the Knights. The Emerging Knights are an integral part of the Northern Knights system and in 2017 the number of games has been increased to ensure that fringe players are exposed to quality opposition in preparation for when they play for the senior team.'

Northern Cricket Union Chairman Alan Waite said, 'This promises to be an exciting summer of Inter-Provincial First Class cricket, and we are grateful that so many NCU Cricket Clubs have agreed to host both the Northern Knights and the Emerging Knights. This will present local cricket supporters with the opportunity to watch First Class Cricket throughout the summer across the Union.'

Northern Knights and Emerging Knights 2017 Home Fixtures

Pre-Season

  • Tuesday 25th to Wednesday 26th April v Western Warriors (Scotland) at Shaw's Bridge

 Inter-Provincial Championship

  • Tuesday 30th May to Thursday 1st June v North West Warriors at Eglinton
  • Monday 5th to Wednesday 7th June v Leinster Lightning at Stormont
  • Tuesday 1st to Thursday 3rd August v North West Warriors at Comber
  • Tuesday 5th to Thursday 7th September v Leinster Lightning at Clontarf, Dublin

Inter-Provincial 50 Over

  • Monday 29th May v North West Warriors at Strabane
  • Sunday 4th June v Leinster Lightning at Belmont
  • Sunday 6th August v North West Warriors at Waringstown
  • Sunday 10th September v Leinster Lightning at Rathmines, Dublin

Inter-Provincial 20 Over

  • Friday 26th May v Munster Reds at Cork (To be Confirmed)
  • Friday 9th June v Leinster Lightning at Merrion, Dublin
  • Friday 16th June v North West Warriors at Strabane
  • Friday 23rd June v Leinster Lightning at Shaw's Bridge
  • Friday 21st July v Munster Reds at Carrickfergus (To be Confirmed)
  • Friday 11th August v North West Warriors at Belmont

Emerging Knights

  • Saturday 6th May v Leinster A at Saintfield
  • Sunday 21st May v Ireland U-19 at Lisburn
  • Sunday 28th May v Leinster 'A' (To be Confirmed)
  • Wednesday 21st to Thursday 22nd June v MCC at Carrickfergus
  • Sunday 30th July v North West Warriors 'A' (To be Confirmed)
  • Wednesday 16th August v Munster at Terenure, Dublin
  • Sunday 27th August v Ulster University (To be Confirmed)